Friday, 7 July 2017

New Release: Alocasia Garden - Colony (Crow Versus Crow, 2017)

Alocasia Garden
Crow Versus Crow
Limited Edition of 50 cassettes & digital download

Order now via the Crow Versus Crow Bandcamp

Crow Versus Crow is incredibly proud to present Colony, the latest release from Alocasia Garden, alias of Folkstone (UK) -based experimental artist Reece Thomas Green.

Startlingly prolific, Colony is Alocasia Garden’s 20th full-length release since the project’s inception in 2014 - following previous cassettes on such esteemed labels as Sacred Tapes, Vanity Pill and Strange Rules.

Written and recorded in June 2016, using contact mics, ride symbol, synth and two 4-track tape recorders, Colony expands upon an established, highly personal aesthetic, specifically exploring more confrontational, harsher textures in stark contrast to experimentations with more open, spacious elements within the delicately layered compositions.

Rooted in the historical lineage of Industrial Noise music, yet eschewing any associated machismo and posturing, with Alocasia Garden, Reece Thomas Green manages to deftly imbue his textured, almost tactile, compositions with a sense of poignancy – a highly emotive, intrinsically human expression extracted from the most inhuman of sources. Piercing screeches and anthropomorphic feedback snarls give way to sustained tones, echoing fizzes and flowing mechanical gurgles, coagulating to evoke dystopian landscapes; battered, collapsed but not hopeless.

Colony is released as a limited edition of 50 professionally dubbed white-shelled cassettes, with full colour labels, wrapped in a full colour extended j-card, housed in a clear plastic case, and digital download.

Order now via the Crow Versus Crow Bandcamp

Sunday, 2 July 2017

The Crow Versus Crow Radio Show #115

The 115th episode of The Crow Versus Crow Radio Show, recorded at Crow Versus Crow Haus using a Zoom H1 recorder as a microphone and stitched together using outdated software. Please listen to this on headphones.

If you are at all interested in the work of the artists featured in this episode, please support the artists and labels through purchasing their records and attending their shows where possible.

This episode originally aired in a far inferior mono form on 96.7 Phoenix FM (Calderdale) on Sunday 2nd July 2017 between 6 and 8pm.

1. 75 Dollar Bill - Beni Said (Wood/Metal/Plastic/Pattern/Rhythm/Rock / Thin Wrist Recordings, 2016)

2. Stuart Chalmers & Neil Campbell - Detritus on Old Bank (In the Vicinity of the Reversing Pool / Not on Label, 2016)
3. ¡NO! - Over The Last Skyscraper, A Silent Kite (Sediments / Little Gem Records, 2017)
4. Sly & The Family Drone & Dead Neanderthals - Muck Man (Part 2) (Molar Wrench / Hominid Sounds, 2017)

5. Stef Ketteringham - Churchgoer (More Guitar Arrangements / Crow Versus Crow, 2017)
6. Katz Mulk - Husks (Husks / Singing Knives Records, 2017)
7. Kevin Cahill - You/In/Be/Arc (Excerpt) (You/In/Be/Arc (Excavation Series #7) / Power Moves Library, 2017)
8. Alocasia Garden - Faces Of A Quiet Land (A Double Life / Holy Geometry, 2017)
9. Jessica Moss - Glaciers I, Pt. I (Pools of Light / Constellation, 2017)

10. Posset - Live at FUSE Art Space, Bradford (17/06/2017) (Posset/BBBlood/Stuart Chalmers, Live at FUSE Art Space / Not On Label, 2017)
11. BBBlood - Live at FUSE Art Space, Bradford (17/06/2017) (Posset/BBBlood/Stuart Chalmers, Live at FUSE Art Space / Not On Label, 2017)
12. Stuart Chalmers - Live at FUSE Art Space, Bradford (17/06/2017) (Posset/BBBlood/Stuart Chalmers, Live at FUSE Art Space / Not On Label, 2017)

Thank You