Friday 28 October 2022

New Release: Brutalust - The Waste Land (CVC025) Limited-Edition Cassette & Digital Download


The Waste Land
Limited-Edition cassette & digital download

Crow Versus Crow is honoured to present The Waste Land, the fourth body of sonic exploration from Brutalust, the Huddersfield, West Yorkshire-based duo of Maria Sappho (USA) and Colin Frank (CAN).

We made noise that day, and this was what was most important. Putting forth sound with intermittent interjections. A heap of broken images.

These seven pieces are composed primarily for piano and percussion, accompanied by musical saw, theremin, synthesizers, and voice, and layered with distortion and live electronic manipulations.

Bricolage, in essence, layers of references to high Modernist poetry, masterful works of contemporary solo piano, and esoteric philosophies, shift within expansive juxtapositions of harsh discordance, delicate contrapuntal melody, structured rhythmic pattern, and open, wild improvisation, to form tactile, textural whorls of episodic flux.

From deconstructing Russian composer Galina Ustvolskaya’s 6th Piano Sonata, to mangling doctrines that prize verifiable statements and ego-motivated pleasure, The Waste Land articulates ideas of struggle with saturation, order, and clarity.

...long after time had ceased to be noticed… we shared what we had found and then lost

The Waste Land is released as a Limited Edition of 50 hand-numbered, professionally dubbed, white shell cassettes, with full colour artwork by Andrew Wild, housed in a white-backed clear case, and digital download. 

Tape / £7
Download / Name Your Price

Available now from the Crow Versus Crow Bandcamp


As always with Crow Versus Crow releases, digital downloads are set at 'Name Your Price'. Please pay what you feel this record is worth, or what you can afford. All digital sales are split 50/50 between the artist and Crow Versus Crow. If you can't afford to pay anything for this record, please download it at no cost to yourself and just dig those golden sounds!

No comments:

Post a Comment