Sunday 20 January 2013

The Crow Versus Crow Radio Show #46

Songs About Crying... (or, I am in love with Phil Elverum)

So, here it s, the 46th episode of the Crow Versus Crow Radio Show, bringing together a selection of my musical explorations between the recording of this and the previous episode. There are new releases from MXMXCI (1991) on Opal Tapes, L.Pierre on Melodic, Danny Clay on Rural Colours and a track from the new self-released EP from Leeds' Cattle; unreleased tracks from Matthew Collings, ahead of the release of his Splintered Instruments LP on Fluid Audio, and People Eaters; a couple of new finds in Marlo Eggplant and 1-800-LIPSTICK; in and amongst a selection of more recent and dustier tracks mined from the archives.

If you are at all interested in the work of the artists featured in this episode, please support the artists and labels through purchasing their records and attending their shows where possible.

This episode originally aired in a far inferior mono form on 96.7 Phoenix FM (Calderdale) on Sunday 20th January 2013 between 6 and 8pm.

1. Red House Painters – Evil (Red House Painters / 4AD)

2. L. Pierre – Doctor Alucard (The Island Come True / Melodic)
3. IVVVO – Rave 2 Die (Cold Holiday / Opal Tapes)

4. Marlo Eggplant – Crumbles (After The Storm / Ilse) (Crater Lake Festival LastFM, Facebook Event Page.)
5. Matthew Collings – Vasilia (Splintered Instruments / Fluid Audio)

6. Danny Clay – Nocturne/Three Bells (When The Curtains Of Night Are Pinned Back By The Stars / Rural Colours)
7. The Microphones – The Glow Pt.2 (The Glow Pt.2 / K Records)

8. 1994! – Sour Thanks, Man (Most Deaf / Kiss Of Death)
9. Cattle – Whoa Bessie (Self-Titled EP / Not On Label)

10. Nisennenmondai – Kyuukohan (Tori / Dotlinecircle)
11. 1-800-LIPSTICK – Anxiety Face (Witch Beats / Not On Label)

12. Rrose – Prism Guard (Preretinal / Eaux)
13. Ashanti Tribe of Ghana / Ewe Tribe of Ghana – Parago (Drums of Death / Avant)
14. MCMXCI – Untitled 2 (Skogen, Flickan och Flaskan / Opal Tapes)

15. Oval – Kreak (Oval / Liturgy Split / Thrill Jockey)
16. People Eaters – Vu-Ni-Duva (Not On Label)
17. The Dead C – 4:36 (Split Series #18 – The Dead C / Konono No.1 / Fat Cat)

18. William Basinski – Disintegration Loops 1.3 (The Disintegration Loops / Temporary Residence)
19. David Bowie – Fascination (Young Americans / RCA)

I've violated copyright laws by offering downloads, so it's no longer available. Sorry! Email me if you want to arrange alternative delivery methods.

Thank You.

No comments:

Post a Comment