Sunday, 29 April 2012

The Crow Versus Crow Radio Show #29

As of this show, the Crow Versus Crow Radio Show will now be presented solely by myself, Andy, after Tom has decided to take a break due to an increasing workload and having to prioritise other commitments. This sucks, but is unavoidable. I had the choice to either abruptly pull the plug on the show or present it solo, and, considering the hard work that has gone in to building the show up to what it is so far, I've decided to soldier on... and, yowzers, was this show a battle?! It will no doubt take a couple of shows to get used to sitting alone in a room talking to a microphone, and the nerves are well on show, but it is, as it always has been, what it is... raw, unscripted drivel in between tracks that I've particularly enjoyed over the last two weeks between the recording of shows.

There is a special Beast Tapes of 2011 mix by Crow Versus Crow regular and collaborator, Posset, in which he presents a seamless mix of excerpts from his personal pick of cassette releases from last year (ripped straight from the tapes themselves). A list of the tracks is included in the show's track list below.

Also, this week's compilation, from which I will be selecting tracks, is mini50 records' After a Long Dream of Sleep, a record released to raise awareness of and funding for Crisis Counselling, a counselling and support service based in Scotland. More information on that project can be found here.

As always, if you are at all interested in any of the artists featured in this episode, please show your support and purchase their records and attend their live shows where possible.

This episode originally aired on 96.7 Phoenix FM (Calderdale) on Sunday 29th April 2012 between 6 and 8pm.

Track Listing

1. Allen Ginsberg - Punk Rock (excerpt)
2. Spirit Animals - Bearlesque
3. Posset - For You
4. Kogumaza - Ursids
5. :zoviet*france: - E18
6. Nope - Porous Spile
7. Jandek - Philip Was Mentioned
8. The Douglas Firs - 30.11.10
9. Torn Apart - High Standards
10. No - Pathway
11. Posset's Crow Versus Crow Mix - Beast Tapes of 2011
      - Ludo Mich / Burial Hex - Speed Of Light Is Too Slow (Scumbag Relations)
      - Blood Stereo - Live In Rochester, NY (Chocolate Monk)
      - Usurper & The Void - Self Titled (Threshold Tapes)
      - Hobo Sonn - Synthetic Preservatives (Sick Head)
      - Funeral Dance Party - Wedge Driver (Loxley Tapes/Fuckin' Amateurs)
      - The Piss Superstition - Dallas Amp (Medusa)
      - Roman Nose - For Alcofribas Nasier (Winebox Press)
      - The Chef - Daft Wife With A Dicta (No Label)
      - Midwich - Faraday Caves: Feathered Machines (Matching Head)
      - Serfs - Auld Country Waltz (Cabin Floor Esoterica)
12. Mirrorzisland - Anonatoll
13. Hiva Oa - Exile
14. fiRES Were Shot - Giffords Green
15. Glacis - May This Night Never See Morning
16. Dean McPhee - Power Of Nines
17. The Townhouses - Romance At The Video Game Library
18. Evenings - Alcyone
19. Andrew Forster - Let's Race To The End Of The Tunnel
20. Falenizza Horsepower - Footsteps In The Snow
21. Mahogany Hand Glider - Fringe
22. Fighting Kites - Butterbean

Thank You.

Wednesday, 25 April 2012


*POSTPONED* We've had to postpone this gig until later on in the year. It may be as soon as June, but, whenever it will be, IT WILL BE.

Crow Versus Crow presents...
Saturday 19th May 2012
Bar Up

Sunday, 15 April 2012

The Crow Versus Crow Radio Show #28

This episode features a guest mix from Bletchley based 'YO! wave pop' artist House of John Player, who has released records on Double Dot Dash amongst others. We are also joined by Hebden Bridge based gig promoter/ podcast presenter/ record reviewer/ owl lover/ all-round good guy Ned, of Was Ist Das?. This weeks featured compilation is Birds Out Records' Thrashin' Victim, which you can download for free here.

If you are at all interested in the work of any artists featured in this episode then please support that artist through purchasing their records and attending their live shows where possible.

Thank you to all the artists and labels who have shown their support and provided the records to make this show.

This show originally aired on 96.7 Phoenix FM (Calderdale) on Sunday 15th April between 6 and 8pm.

Track List

1. Ahleuchatistas - 2-3 Coinsensus On The Un-Finite Possibilities
2. House Of John Player - Popwars
3. Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazlewood - Some Velvet Morning
4. Fursaxa - Leaves Of Bryony
5. King Crimson - Easy Money
6. James Blackshaw - Gate Of Ivory
7. Arbouretum - Ghosts Of Here And Now
8. Hush Arbors - Gone
9. Michael Flower and Neil Campbell - Untitled (excerpt)
10. Padang Food Tigers - Corn Stem
11. Charalambides - Desecrated
12. Pimmon - Other Side Of The Sun
13. Rachel's - First Self Portrait Series
14. The House Of John Player Crow Versus Crow Mix
      - Buttonhead - Fanfare
      - Jonathan Richman - Let Her Go Into The Darkness
      - Grass Widow - Goldilocks Zone
      - Chick Corea - El Bozo (Part 3)
      - The Necessaries - State Of The Art
      - Lispector - Two Rights Can't Make A Wrong
15. No Coast - Make Out With All Your Brothers
16. Closure - Sada Abe
17. Fuck Right Off - Won't Be Phased
18. The Atrocity Exhibit - Scissors
19. Greg Sage - Your Empathy
20. Mogwai - Stanley Kubrick (Live)

Thank You

Sunday, 1 April 2012

Crow Versus Crow presents... SILENT FRONT | EYES | WILD WIZARDS

Crow Versus Crow presents...
Sunday 8th April 2012
Bar Up, Halifax
Doors 8pm
Free Entry/Donations

We're more than a little happy to be able to present SILENT FRONT once again at Bar Up. Joining us for the last leg of their tour with Love Among The Mannequins, albeit LATM-less for this final date of the tour unfortunately (Blame a combination of skiing and competitions...), they will be joined by Liverpool's EYES and a post-Thee Cuss Words WILD WIZARDS, who will be playing their first ever live set...




Here is the Facebook Event Page for the gig. Please tell your friends and spread the good word!

It is free entry, although donations are gladly taken, with all proceeds going directly to the bands. Please come and support DIY music in the arsehole of the world...

The Crow Versus Crow Radio Show #27

We've a few more tracks from the roster of the rather excellent Lancashire and Somerset label this week, along with a selection of tracks from the Hibernate Recordings/Audio Gourmet compilation Hidden Landscapes 2 and the usual mix of really loud things and really quiet things.

If you are interested in any of the artists featured in this show please support them through purchasing their records and attending their shows where possible.

This episode originally aired on 96.7 Phoenix FM (Calderdale) on Sunday April 1st 2012 between 6 and 8pm.

Track List

1. XxeNa - Homenaje a Satie
2. AUKSO Orchestra - Popcorn Superhet Receiver Part 2 B
3. O.O.O - In Pieces
4. Trouble With Books - Japanese Garden (live)
5. Enablers - Morandi: Natura Morta, No. 86
6. Deer Tick - Clowning Around
7. Monobrow - Students Body Found In Lancashire Beauty Spot
8. Deerhunter - He Would Have Laughed
9. Hanetration - Rex
10. Hapsburg Braganza - Lovely Red Boy
11. Posset - Bastro In Mind
12. Talvihorros - Etude VII
13. Nathan Bell - Singing Through The Air
14. Strom Noir - Skywalking
15. Cloud Nothings - No Future/No Past
16. Silent Front - Plunder
17. Carl White - Knew World
18. Fighting Kites - Cat Is Egg
19. Ruined Families - You Will Become Like Your Father
20. Endless Rope - Antiquated
21. Offthesky - One Blood Poem
22. Do Make Say Think - The Landlord Is Dead
23. Black Octagon - Bear Snuffler

Thank You.